BusyBoard

Desperate for Mac Help

>

GdHrtdTchr

Desperate for Mac Help
Old 12-17-2017, 04:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi. Plz someone help me:

I am an experienced primary teacher new to a position in a computer lab. I did this once before w/netbooks. This lab has Macs. I am more of a PC person, but I am learning/trying. My tough days nowadays are "spinning beachballs" and other "freezes" - esp. during testing. The tech says I'm not doing anything wrong, the computers are old. My AP says "the beachballs" are cuz I'm not clearing the cache & wants me to have a "maintenance schedule" of this. I Googled "clear the cache on a Mac" but the options don't line up quite like the directions. There's no simple click or two like on my PCs. How do I "clear" w/o fear of losing the kids stuff or something important??

And, do you think it will make any difference?

Is there a way I can minimize such problems?

Is there a way to determine how old these Macs are?

I'm thinking the tech is right. But I also wanna follow the APs directives. She also says the problem is that students have downloaded pics to the desk tops. I will have them drag those to the trash, but most have 0-3 pics. (A FEW may have 4-10. But THOSE computers are working fine.)

Sigh.

Thanx to ANYONE who can help me!

GdHrtdTchr is offline   Reply With Quote

SportingKC

Old 12-17-2017, 05:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Go to the apple drop down menu (top left) and click on the first option...About this Mac. It should tell you generally when the computer was made. Mine says Macbook Pro, Late 2011

I have been a Mac user my whole life, and I've never cleared my cache unless it's been on my internet browser. Is that what she's talking about? What internet browser are you using? Safari is a Mac product and will work well...i've had great luck with Google Chrome & Firefox as well. If you're using Internet Explorer...STOP. It's not secure and could be the reason you're having issues.

A suggestion: