Help

Early Childhood Education (Pre-K)

Smelly Classroom Management

>

teachfrmheart

Smelly Classroom Management
Old 12-18-2017, 05:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Help teachers! I have some students who have bathroom issues so my classroom frequently smells. I have a glade sprayer that is just not cutting it. What do you use to keep your classrooms smelling good? I am considering getting a scentsy candle warmer, maybe one with a lid. Do you think it would be an issue having a candle warmer in the classroom with young students? I am a kindergarten teacher. Thanks in advance for your help!

teachfrmheart is offline   Reply With Quote

findinggiggle

Helping You Get Ride of the Smell
Old 12-19-2017, 02:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi,
I like using hydrogen peroxide for cleaning everything in my classroom and bathroom as it doesn't stain and cleans really well. And it's safer than Bleach!
When one of my students has an accident in the classroom, I use an odor eliminator. My favorite is Air Scense but health food stores usually have some good brands. It's non-aerosol and uses essential oils. I try to stay as organic, non-scent as possible. A lot of sprays are hazardous to children's lungs. Hmm...or have you thought about an air purifier? Well, I hope this helps!
findinggiggle is offline   Reply With Quote

forkids2

Essential oil diffuser
Old 12-19-2017, 03:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Maybe an essential oil diffuser would work. Amazon has some for $20. That should be safe around the kids.
forkids2 is offline   Reply With Quote

teachfrmheart

Old 12-20-2017, 07:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Good idea! Thanks!
teachfrmheart is offline   Reply With Quote

readnteach13

Old 12-23-2017, 06:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I second the essential oil diffuser. Try lavender, it will calm them down . Peppermint and lavender have worked the best for me. Can you open a window? A fan (either n the window or just a regular fan) might help as well.