Help

BusyBoard

Reluctant Learner

>

Sam5

Reluctant Learner
Old 02-08-2018, 07:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a retired teacher who is volunteer math tutor for a children's home. I am doing great with the 4-6 graders, motivating them with short math games, stickers, and praise. The junior high girls are doing okay. However, I have a few junior high boys who I am struggling with. They are very behind, have been "tossed around" in life, are too cool to need help, and just resent having to spend time being tutored. I have used praise and encouragement and offered choices on how we work on things. I have access to computers if there is something online that we could work through together. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Sam5 is offline   Reply With Quote

1956BD

Teenage Boys Can Be Difficult to Engage
Old 02-08-2018, 09:43 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Maybe you could write the word problems about topics they can relate to more.

They love to eat! So maybe some word problems about yummy food would be enjoyable. Maybe you could even have a cooking lesson to teach fractions and then allow them to eat what they have cooked. Half the recipe? Double the recipe?

They usually love sports so sports related problems might be better as well to get them engaged.

If you can make some problems up that are related to video games they would like that. Maybe they can even help you write the problems and then solve them.

How about the Olympics? Winter Olympics are almost here and they may be interested.

What about doing some real measuring and having them finding the center for picture hanging? Or measuring a room or two for carpet or new flooring? How to measure and order blinds for a window? How to measure a garden area and determine how many plants they need to go around the perimeter if they need to be planted X number of feet apart? I think real life problems will appeal to them more and getting up out of the desk and actually doing some measuring will be more active.