Help

BusyBoard

Retired teacher Needs Help ASAP!

>

Nanny7

Retired teacher Needs Help ASAP!
Old 02-08-2018, 02:37 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

HELP! I retired last August and still have crates in my garage of teaching resources. Some organized by the CCSS. I have 7 grandchildren and want to save a few for volunteering or tutoring grandkids. But right now I have no desire to sub.

What do I keep, toss, donate (and if so where) so I can move forward in my journey into retirement.

Any advise or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Nanny7 is offline   Reply With Quote

readnteach13

Old 02-08-2018, 03:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

How about a yard sale? As a new-ish teacher, I LOVE a good yard sale from retired teachers. I once got 15 clipboards for $5! I would keep things that have some sentimental value to you, have the grandkids look through it and grab what they like, and donate or sell the rest. I canít help with what to throw out, because Iím a secret (albeit organized) hoarder of all things teacher related.
readnteach13 is offline   Reply With Quote

Nanny7

Garage sale- Spring/Summer?
Old 02-08-2018, 05:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Thanks for your thoughtful input! As one hoarder to another, I'm celebrating all I have given to new teachers and also donated. However I still have 15 crates full of resources. Any SUV donation loads. I cringe when I think about dumping it in the recycle bin because I've work so hard gathering the resources and want them to go to a good home. However, It's holding me back and also I'm realize new teachers are much more tech savvy and just go online to get resources now.

My own children are minimalists and therefore took very little. Which I understand them not wanting to go through my resources. A realization that What I have seen as valuable is not always valuable to others. I'm thankful I made 1 large pile of hardcover books for each of my grandchildren.