Help

Future Teachers

From nursing to educator

>

nurse2school

From nursing to educator
Old 04-26-2018, 06:23 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hello all, I am currently a nurse who would like to change her career to teaching, specifically health sciences at a high school level. Nursing is interesting but not where my passion is and I have always wanted to teach, I come from a long line of educators and being the in the classroom is where I am happiest, I actually really love school.
Anyway, I am in my mid 20s and would like to go back to school to become a teacher. I was just wondering if anyone had any advice especially when it comes to the health sciences. I have been researching how prevalent these jobs are and obviously they're not as popular as math, english, and biology. Does anyone have any experience with student teaching/ getting a job as a health teacher? Also, does anyone know how competitive this particular place of study is? Will a nursing background actually help set me apart? Thanks.

nurse2school is offline   Reply With Quote

whatever

Check with larger schools first
Old 04-27-2018, 04:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I think that is an important field (and has important info to share) but most small schools could not support a full-time Health teacher. You might want to add related credentials or specialties.

In my district, basic health is covered by the FACS teacher in MS and HS. In a pinch, we have a school nurse willing to step in to teach certain subjects as well.

We also have "visiting' Health and Nutrition teachers who come in once a week to two upper elementary grade levels from a nearby college. You might check into that...they have different credentials at the college level...

They are in different schools several days a week and have office hours or meetings some days. That might be the way to go...Just a thought.
whatever is offline   Reply With Quote

nurse2school

Old 04-27-2018, 06:35 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3