Help

Kindergarten

this is really really hard

>

calumetteach

this is really really hard
Old 09-05-2018, 03:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

The first day I know is hard, but kindergarten just seems altogether so hard. I am used to bigger kids. I so want to do well, but it didn't seem to go terrifically.
Any activities or advice you can give me is appreciated. Thanks so much.

calumetteach is offline   Reply With Quote

TeacherPK6

Old 09-05-2018, 03:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm new to K as well, and been having a hard time as well! The other teachers seem to be having similar struggles (even those who've taught it many years). I've heard it does get better. Sorry I don't have any advice (I'll be checking back here myself), but know you're not alone!
TeacherPK6 is offline   Reply With Quote

Sbkangas5

Old 09-05-2018, 04:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

It doesn't matter if you've been teaching one year or twenty, the first 6 weeks (or so) of kindergarten are brutal! And so so exhausting. But it does get better, and by the end you will forget how hard it was to start because they will be so independent and will have come so incredibly far.

My best advice is to take it slow. Don't get rushed into starting curriculum or centers or whatever. You need to get them trained on routines and procedures before tackling any of that. And they need a TON of practice to learn them! Don't assume they know anything - teach them the big stuff as well as the little.

Also, make it fun for both you and the kids. Whatever that means for you. Sing some silly songs, read a fun book, play a game, sit on the floor and play with them. Find or create a part of the day to look forward to and enjoy. We start the day with a half hour of play and I look forward to it every day. It's my time to connect with them, and hear about their morning or weekend, to ask them questions and just enjoy their interactions and imaginations.

Good luck!
Sbkangas5 is offline   Reply With Quote

calumetteach