Help

BusyBoard

Calling students 'friends'

>

riko

Old 09-13-2018, 07:09 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

There is a young Kindergarten teacher, 7th year of teaching, who calls her students, "Friends." For example, "Hi Friends...." I was always told that students are not our friends. It didn't matter what grade you taught, there is a line. I tell them I can be friendly with them but am not their friend. I teach upper elementary.

I am a 25+ year veteran and was wondering if this is the trend now. If so, I don't think I can jump on this bandwagon.

Other thoughts?

riko is offline   Reply With Quote

Keltikmom

Friends
Old 09-13-2018, 07:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It's a term that gets used a lot in primary. I used it more when I taught kinder than when I taught 2nd. It's more inclusive and friendly than "class" or "children".

And it's not crossing any boundaries. We are friendly and kind to our students, but not "besties"!
Keltikmom is offline   Reply With Quote

Teddi9192

Old 09-13-2018, 07:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I'm not friends with my students, nor would I address them as such. Heck, I'm not friends with my own flesh and blood kids. I may be in 5-10 years but that isn't my role in their lives right now.
Teddi9192 is offline   Reply With Quote

GreyhoundGirl

Old 09-13-2018, 07:40 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I don't do it either, I call them "3rd graders" or "guys".
GreyhoundGirl is online now   Reply With Quote

Sbkangas5

Old 09-13-2018, 10:24 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I'm in kinder and I use lots of terms to address my students, "friends" being one of them. We are working hard on what it means to be a student and a friend, so it makes sense to address them as friends at times.

Sbkangas5 is offline   Reply With Quote

readnteach13

Depends on the grade level
Old 09-13-2018, 10:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #6