School Mental Health

Counselor Question

>

Sophianna

Counselor Question
Old 10-03-2018, 04:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Good morning.

I graduated in January with my masters in counseling, have certification in elementary school counseling, but was denied licensing because I moved to Louisiana who requires nine more credits than my home state of Missouri. I start my PhD program in November, and after taking three courses, I can reapply for my PLPC.

I am employed through an agency that places counselors in schools. At this job, they state that you should have your PLPC or the social work equivalent, but it is up to the discretion of the company president. So I relocated my life, started doing this job, made connections with staff and students... and then I was denied licensing. Now my job has decided to allow me to continue in this position with my certification, but they will not allow me to:
1. Call myself a counselor.
2. Conduct sessions with students one on one.
3. Do anything with students that have IEP minutes.
4. Call anything I do any version of the word counsel.
5. Can ONLY work with kids on academics.

My school leadership knows about this, but none of the teachers or other staff know.

I want to quit. I do not make as much money as I would make working directly for a school, in fact I make less than most of the teachers on staff. Now I cannot do any of the things I have been doing and I kind of feel like what is the point of even being here if I cannot help kids?

Can Louisiana school counselors really do nothing aside from academics? I tried to say that was not true, but she quoted some bulletin or another stating that it was true.