need western day activities - ProTeacher Community

jks

need western day activities
Old 10-21-2007, 05:09 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

In lieu of Halloween, my school is having "western day" celebration on Friday. The students are allowed to dress country-western, and I plan on using candy corn for a math game. I'm sure there are a lot more ideas that you can share!! This is my first year in fourth grade, so I need something that will appeal to older kids. Thanks.

jks is offline   Reply With Quote

ecsmom

Old 10-21-2007, 06:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Write and illustrate a western short story or read a western and draw a picture in response. I have also shown a picture and had my students write a story about it. Can you tell that I used to teach writing? !

We had a western day when I taught 4th. It was a lot of fun!
We wrote a song to the tune of "Good Ole Boys" and sang it for the school, every class did something.

Maybe you can make beef jerky using a food dehydrator for science.

Compare and contrast schools and kids lives between now and then for social studies.

I'm sure others will have some great ideas. Have fun!
ecsmom is offline   Reply With Quote

Garden Gal

scarecrow glyphs
Old 10-21-2007, 06:59 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

If you do a google search for scarecrow glyphs you will find several. One should be appropriate for your age level.
Garden Gal is offline   Reply With Quote

donna

Old 10-21-2007, 07:18 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

There is a cute cowboy glyph on this link that you could do with the kids. I think the 4th graders would love it. It's a fun way to do data analysis and incorporate art.

http://www.talentedkidzone.com/crafts/texas.html
donna is offline   Reply With Quote

heddyb65

Yee-haw!
Old 10-21-2007, 08:09 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5