Help

Special Education

Caseload, ratio, etc.

>

Drowning1234

Caseload, ratio, etc.
Old 11-21-2018, 07:49 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I want to preempt this with Iím honestly curious and want to know if this is the norm. I know itís going to sound like Iím whining, but Iím really just asking opinions and personal experiences. So, please donít brand me as a whiner.

I graduated last year, got married, and relocated. I was able to find a position near the town we moved to. Iím in a PreK-3 building. I have 33 kids on my caseload, and I see 28 of them a day. The others are monitoring.

Five of those kids are with me 75% of the day, and the others are with me for blocks of 30 minutes. Thereís me and a part time aide.

Iím drowning, henceforth my username. Is this the norm???? Because if it is, I need another career option.

Drowning1234 is offline   Reply With Quote

ElemSped13

Old 11-21-2018, 12:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It seems high and at the least on the very upper range of a caseload around here. I had 29 middle schoolers for co teaching blocks and it was really hard to stay on top of everything. I can't imagine that many little ones!

Why do you have 5 for 75% of the day? Are they really high needs?
ElemSped13 is offline   Reply With Quote

teabreak

Whew!
Old 11-21-2018, 04:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

That seems like a lot to me. Are you the only special Ed teacher? I am blessed to have others to share the load so our case management is never more than 25 per teacher.
teabreak is offline   Reply With Quote

Drowning1234

Old 11-21-2018, 04:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Yes, they are ID and/or autistic.

Drowning1234

Old 11-21-2018, 04:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

Only me. I have an aide who comes in the afternoon.

ElemSped13

Old 11-21-2018, 06:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #6

Are the ID/autistic mild or more severe? How independent and verbal are they?