Is it worth doing National Board Teacher Certification (NBPTS) or not? - ProTeacher Community

Home Join Now Search My Favorites
Help

National Board Certification

Is it worth doing National Board Teacher Certification (NBPTS) or not?

>

NBPTS or not

NBPTS or not

Is it worth doing National Board Teacher Certification (NBPTS) or not?
Old 02-26-2019, 05:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi, I have a PhD and teach at a private school. I don't have any financial incentives to do national board teacher cert other than wanting to improve in my practice. The school will pay for this but I won't get a raise or anything like that.
Should I do this or not? Would it make me more "marketable" or will I just invest a lot of time and not get a big return on investment?

Zia

Old 02-26-2019, 08:01 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

It is commonly touted as the best PD ever. I will be honest: the $6K yearly stipend is why I began the journey, but I stuck with it because it legit made me a better teacher. Most say there is a huge ROI. And yes, more marketable. It is the highest certification you can earn. A Ph.D gets me maybe $200 more a year? It's some paltry amount. That tells me how highly valued NBCT is.
Zia is offline   Reply With Quote

anabel12

Not
Old 02-26-2019, 08:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

My district gave us nothing. It was good PD, but I wouldn't do it again. 6K? Wow!
anabel12 is offline   Reply With Quote

Zia

Old 02-26-2019, 08:25 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Quote:
6K? Wow!
Yup! So..$1900 to certify gets you $30K. Easy decision and I will re-new each time my certification lapses!

I'm sorry your state/district doesn't recognize this accomplishment. It makes me sad.

choppie70

Old 02-27-2019, 02:33 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

We only get about $3K more for having NBPTS here.

Also, because you have to notify of your standing on December 1st, and scores do not get released until after that date, you do not get the extra money for your first year of certification.