Help

BusyBoard

Appropriate Dress

>

TheElphaba

Appropriate Dress
Old 04-24-2019, 05:21 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I think I must be REALLY old fashioned and just curious how other teachers feel about this.

Appropriate dress I think is important. Do people really think that showing A LOT of cleavage is appropriate in a professional setting? We have teachers that show at least 3 inches of breast cleavage and sometimes maybe 2 inches of butt cleavage. Everytime these teachers bend over you can see way more of them than you want to.

Like I said I am old fashioned and I was always taught NOT to show cleavage especially in a professional place. I know as a teacher I always make sure that nothing is showing by doing a bend test. I know I know this sounds funny, but if I bend over and I see something then I immediately change.

I have seen teachers show large amount of cleavage when they were working with HS boys and I just shake my head because I believe that it is a recipe for disaster. I have told some people that they might want to rethink what they are wearing, but sometimes you just know that some people wouldn't appreciate the hint.

Anyway I was just wondering?

TheElphaba is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 04-24-2019, 05:32 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Quote:
I have told some people that they might want to rethink what they are wearing, but sometimes you just know that some people wouldn't appreciate the hint.
Honestly, unless you were my administrator (or maybe a mentor) I wouldn’t appreciate comments on what I wear. That’s not to say I am going to show up with excessive cleavage or low-rider pants. However, I know the school dress code, and I choose to wear what I believe fits it. I’d resent the self-appointed fashion police putting their view of “appropriate” on my choices.

I do know that the very few people I’ve known who were guilty of inappropriate relationships with students did not dress provocatively AT ALL.