first year teacher quitting - ProTeacher Community

Shorti

first year teacher quitting
Old 11-06-2007, 07:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Last week I dropped the bomb and told the principal that I am quitting teaching. I dont know what to do with my life now. I have worked so hard for a degree and now I dont want to teach. I feel like such a quitter. I always tell my students to stick through the tough times and I cant even practice what I preach. Is something wrong with me? My last day is November 20. Did I make the biggest mistake of my life?

Shorti is offline   Reply With Quote

johnsju

tough situation
Old 11-06-2007, 07:59 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I'm a fellow first-year teacher, so I can definitely understand your perspective! Do you mind if I ask what drove you to this point? Do you have a mentor or an experienced teacher at school to talk to? How did your principal react when you broke the news? I honestly can't tell you if this was a mistake. You know yourself better than anyone...if you feel good about it, you probably made the right decision. If you're still having lots of doubts, you should rethink your reasons for leaving. Best of luck figuring out what's next...let us know if there's anything we can do!
johnsju is offline   Reply With Quote

Shorti

Old 11-07-2007, 07:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I left for several reasons. A lot of it had to do with the kids and the school. I had no offical mentor or any support from the teachers. One teacher I worked with was a great help but she was really busy herself. Even with her help I felt like I was floundering. I feel like a heavy burden has been lifted. Its a big sigh of relief.
Shorti is offline   Reply With Quote

notidentical

To Shorti
Old 11-09-2007, 01:30 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4