Help

ARCHIVE

christmas gift exchange?

>

teachof3

christmas gift exchange?
Old 11-12-2007, 12:10 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

i am new to 5th grade. i was wondering if anyone had any clever ideas of what they do for their christmas gift exchange? in the past, with younger grades, i have done a book exchange, but i thought that someone might have a better idea for 5th graders

teachof3 is offline   Reply With Quote

dmamec

Old 11-12-2007, 02:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

How about instead of getting little trinket gifts, allow students to bring in whatever amount of money they want to put in the "gift jar" and use it to buy an animal from Heifer Project International--read them the book "Beatrice's Goat" and help them see how a gift like that can make such a difference in the world.

Unless you are in an impoverished area, my guess is that your kids probably get more than they need like mine do...we did away with all gifts (even for teachers) and instead encourage service to others at this time of year.

Food for thought--the kids REALLY like the idea of buying animals for people once they understand what an effect they have.
dmamec is offline   Reply With Quote

Jump4Joy

Gift Exchange
Old 11-16-2007, 07:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Wow, the idea of the animal gift project is great. I usually do a "Gift Card" exchange. The students fill out a questionnaire that gives them a chance to share their likes/hobbies, etc. and then whoever picks that person from the hat, gets the answers to the questionnaire to help them decide where to get the gift card from. We send a letter to parents first to let them know what we're doing. They are allowed to participate if the parent agrees to get the 15.00 gift card. There have never been any problems with this but if you have any children whose families are struggling financially, then it's a big problem.