Help

School Mental Health

Salary

>

Sophianna

Salary
Old 06-03-2020, 10:14 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I hate to talk about something sensitive, but I am at my wits end. I work for a company that puts counselors in schools, and my boss claims they have done all the research and pay comparably to nearby schools and districts. I make less money than I made teaching in the same city more than ten years ago and have found out many teachers with less than five years experience make more than me.

I'm a new counselor - this will be my third year. But I was a teacher for 14 years. I would have stayed where I was by my district had a hiring freeze on counselors so I relocated.

I just asked for a raise and was told no. They do not negotiate. I know this is a lie, as I have three friends that were the same level of experience as me making $15,000 more than me because they pitched a fit and got their raise. Despite that, only one of them still works here b/c it's not a great place to work overall. She also said that she checked with other districts and I would not be paid based on my years experience in a school, but on my years experience as a counselor, so she claims I am actually "making more" than I would be if I left.

I don't know what to do. I can't be without a job and I love my school, but I need to make more money. I have two Bachelor's degrees, a masters degree and am two semesters from my PhD.

What would you do?

Sophianna is offline   Reply With Quote

GraceKrispy

Old 06-04-2020, 10:16 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2