Help

The Job Search

Interview help

>

laydj2020

Interview help
Old 10-29-2020, 12:56 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I have an interview coming up for a middle school position. I have been teaching upper elementary for over five years. I am nervous about translating my elementary experience into middle school language. Any tips?

laydj2020 is offline   Reply With Quote

GraceKrispy

Old 10-31-2020, 01:11 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I hope others pipe in and give you some great ideas! I would say talking about how you manage the classroom and make connections with kids (since you will see them for shorter periods of time) would be important.

Wishing you good luck!!
GraceKrispy is offline   Reply With Quote

Ima Teacher

Old 10-31-2020, 03:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I went the other direction. I taught high school (12th grade) and switched to 7th grade. It was an adjustment, but I really loved the kids once I got used to their quirks.
Ima Teacher is offline   Reply With Quote

teachnkids

Old 10-31-2020, 03:53 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I think because you've taught upper elementary you will be fine with language.

Something to ask or scope out on their website ahead of time daily schedule (class times)

Will you teach one subject or more?

I was on the interview committee once to find a teaching partner. We interviewed 3 candidates. One talked all about cutesie stuff & crafts. Ummm no! Another had zero experience. Third looked real good because he knew education language. Hired language guy...what a train wreck!!

My first year in MS I still did my theme, modified of course. P wanted to know what the hell I was doing? Lol.

Another time I was doing groups...was totally not MS mentality then. I was recognized as innovative because I did groups

Think about the class schedule and how you would use that time...direct instruction, small group, and independent time