Help

ARCHIVE

Everyday Counts Calendar Math

>

paco61

Everyday Counts Calendar Math
Old 11-29-2007, 12:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Our school bought the Everyday Counts Calendar Math program. We have had no training with the program. I have read the teacher's manual and we are struggling to get started. I know it is rather late in the year to get started, but I think better late than never. I really don't know how to set it up. If anyone uses this program, is there anyway you could send a picture of your setup in your classroom. If someone has used it for ages, does anyone have some questions that you ask during the month. What do you do with all the plastic covering folders? Do you think it has helped? I was just hoping somone out there could help. Thank you tons!!

paco61 is offline   Reply With Quote

misswalton

Old 12-01-2007, 11:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hello! Ok, so I'm just a student teacher but I have had to learn this program and incorporate it into my everday schedule. Here's how we have it set up. We have a whole bulletin board dedicated to calendar math. On this bulletin board is the calendar for the month in the center, a 'bank', a 100's chart, a clock, place value flip chart, a problem of the day center, and place value straws.

Here goes:

The calendar is pretty self explanatory. Everyday we talk about the date. I have them say "Today is, Tuesday, December __, 2007. Then we put up the piece on the calendar for today and as we go on through the weeks we talk about the pattern that the pieces make. The month of November was a diagonal pattern so we discussed that randomly thoughout the month. Also with the calendar I ask questions like if today is Tuesday, December __, then what is the Day and Date in two weeks, or two weeks ago. We discuss the months of the year, days of the week, and even incorporate abbreviations into it. There's a lot you can do with the calendar.