Help

ARCHIVE

When is it time to go?

>

LovesLucy

When is it time to go?
Old 11-30-2007, 06:56 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I hope somebody out there will share some advice. I know that no one can make this decision for me, but maybe others have felt this way. I've been teaching for twenty years. I have four children of my own ranging in ages from 13 to 5. I have grown to really dislike my job. Right now, at this moment, I don't have the resentment and anger I usually feel because the day before yesterday I told my husband it's time for me to quit. Maybe I've found some peace in that and that's why I'm not all tied up in knots right now. I'll miss my daughter's holiday concert at school this year because contractually I'm obligated to be at my own school that night for parent-teacher conferences. I spend all my time at home doing stuff for school. At our staff meetings (our principal schedules every staff meeting the contract allows her to...3 per month) all we do is analyze MCAS questions (I teach in Massachusetts and that's the standardized tests for grades 3,4, 8,10 and I don't even know what other grades). That's all we do...every meeting.....analyze the children's responses...what they did wrong...why they did it....how they can do better next year... We use a math program I hate and have gone to a standards-based report card that involves common assessments for each grade level that are sometimes ridiculous. I don't want to give up two evenings of my life in December and two more in March to talk to parents. I don't want to do all of things our school does as "school traditions" every year (a HUGE Flag Day celebration, an awards ceremony at the end of the year that lasts all morning...etc....). I don't want to do work at home, anymore. I've been trying to find all kinds of professional development this year, and I've been doing lots of reading in the hope that something will spark a new outlook on things, a new approach, something fresh and exciting. I want to