Help

New Teachers

Changing classroom management styles??

>

kinderlady7

Changing classroom management styles??
Old 03-16-2021, 04:51 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a second year teacher, teaching kindergarten. Over the past 2.5 months, I have gained 6 new students. I am feeling as though my classroom management plan is just flat out not working any longer and I am in need of a change. Our coach came into my class today to model a lesson and I was AMAZED at all of the awesomeness my kids did under her direction. I want that sooooo badly!

Through research, I have found that I have a permissive teaching style. I encourage my students as often as possible, focus on positive behaviors, and work to build these positive relationships. In the process, I have been too lax. I'm seeing that now. At least, across the past few months, since Christmas (before Christmas my classroom ran fairly smoothly). I'm finding students who didn't previously show negative behaviors are beginning to. There is a lack of respect. In my research I found the statement "permissive teachers are full of love but demand no control. Students run the classroom and love their teachers." I feel like that is exactly how my classroom is. They love me but do not respect our classroom rules.

I'm falling short on some steps to take to make this change. How can I start over with the rules and redevelop that respect? I want my kids to be able to reach their full potential and right now I know they are not in my classroom.

Just fyi, I have asked for help multiple times from admin (which is no where near as supportive as I would like) and this modeling has occurred after the principal was unhappy with one of the lessons she saw. So I won't be getting much more support from her even though she is awesome with them and I would love the support.

Thank you in advance!

kinderlady7 is offline   Reply With Quote

Fenwick

Old 03-19-2021, 09:04 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Quote: