Help

Sunflower Room

Reading Workshop Pacing

>

liketeaching1

Reading Workshop Pacing
Old 12-06-2007, 08:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I feel like I am SOOOO far behind with RW this year (first grade). I am finishing up connections (Text to self, text to text, text to world) before our Christmas break. I guess I am looking for validation--but just wondering if I am really behind or on pace with you guys?????

teacherdani21

Old 12-06-2007, 08:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

You are farther ahead than I am! I won't get to connections until we come back from Christmas break! I am just getting into retelling. I am only able to do RW 4 days a week, plus these last couple of weeks have been FULL of interruptions and it only gets worse from here to Christmas! So, that is why I am so far behind. I am sure there are others who are in the same boat, but I hear you...I feel like I am WAY behind!

radicalreader

Behind also
Old 12-07-2007, 02:40 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I am behind in reading workshop as well. I feel like I have had to take a lot of time on some things with my kiddos and then there are the interruptions this quarter with Thanksgiving etc. That makes me feel better that I'm not the only one behind.

TerryT

Glad to hear I am not alone!
Old 12-07-2007, 10:23 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I am just starting text to text connections. It feels as though I am going at a snail's pace sometimes, but I will just keep plugging along knowing my kids are getting far more than if I were not doing RW at all.
And Writer's Workshop? Well that's going a little slower than I had hoped too.... Oh well...!

BookMuncher

Old 12-07-2007, 02:38 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

All of you are together, and I don't think that anyone is behind! You are doing what your kids need. I think it's much better to go slow at the beginning and you are giving them skills that are really necessary foundations.

jerzgirl

Old 12-07-2007, 03:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #6