ARCHIVE

Inclusive classrooms? A vent

>

reallycuriou

reallycuriou

Inclusive classrooms? A vent
Old 12-13-2007, 01:55 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a new 6th grade teacher. In my SS class, I have 4 special needs kids who get in class support and sometimes get pulled out.

One of the kids has a number of disabilities. He doesn't read, he has ADHD, and some other issues. He has a full time aide and his work is modified down to a K-2 level, so he's getting an 85 average.

Our team met with his mom yesterday, who wants to hear how he's doing. Well, he stares out the window, doesn't want to work, can't read, and you can't call on him because that would only embarrass him. But she wants to hear how well he's doing!!

The child study team had wanted to put him into another district that could better serve his needs - or at least put him into a resource room situation, but his mom wanted him to get the social benefits of school.

I find it frustrating that I'm supposed to cater to his needs as well as the other 19 kids in my class...who need a lot of attention even though they're not classified. They're just needy kids.

How can I include this kid if he doesn't want to work? Oh, BTW, I'm NON TENURED so I have to be very very tactful.....

Thanks for listening.

Mrs. T.

Be thankful
Old 12-13-2007, 02:59 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I had a simular situation only with severe behavior tacked on and NO AIDE.
Mrs. T. is offline   Reply With Quote
Sympathetic

Sympathetic

Old 12-14-2007, 02:02 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I'm not trying to be critical, but put yourself in that parent's place. They
want what's best for their child, just as if he were not disabled. My feeling is, anybody can teach the "normal" kids. It takes a real teacher to reach those who are hard to teach.

chronicfun

I hear you
Old 12-14-2007, 03:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4