Special Education

resource room (pretend choices)

>

Monkeyflower

resource room (pretend choices)
Old 06-11-2022, 07:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Dear All,

I've been a K-3 resource teacher. I'm hoping to get some perspectives and ideas for an issue that I am having with my principal. He's a nice enough person, and we do get along, and I do well on my evaluations.

I have 5.25 hours of para support split between 2 paras. Among us we do 18-20 groups a day. The paras are either working in the resource room with me or pulling students in the pod or a little room. The point is that we are busy all day along with our groups and moving between groups.

My principal asked me if I would consider doing the upper grades because there's more focus on academics and less on behavior. The upper grade resource teacher has been on medical leave all year, and hasn't said what her plans are for next year yet. However, I don't think she would be happy with switching grade levels.

Yesterday, I told my principal that I wanted to remain with the lower grades, because of the momentum I have already gained with them, and that I thought it was a positive for the students who I had already been working with for years to have someone new.

He hemmed and hawed a bit before implying that the switch may not be a choice, and the issue was how I was not doing enough to oversee and ensure behavior plans get followed in 1st grade. He thought that I should have things running so smoothly with my groups that I should be able to leave a group instantly without interrupting any learning to go deal with a child who is blowing out. I can do a quick transition if I have paras in the room at the time, but I can't leave students alone for unknown amounts of time while I deal with a situation. He claimed that lots of other resource room teachers are able to do that.