New Teachers

Teaching Inferencing

>

Dragonlady

Teaching Inferencing
Old 01-12-2008, 04:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,
I am not a new teacher but I am new to this grade level. Previously, I taught 6-8 grade reading and math. Now, I teach in a resource room. My student are 1st grade-5th grade. My question may sound strange but I am not sure as to how I am to teach inferencing to second graders who are experiencing delays that are 6 months to a year below grade level. For some reason, teaching this skill is perplexing me. If anyone can offer advice or tips as to how I am to go about this, it will be helpful.
Thank You,

Nessa

Inferencing riddles
Old 01-13-2008, 05:28 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My 4th graders also have trouble with inferencing-"reading between the lines". We do a 'riddle' of the day. I read them a few sentences, to a short paragraph and they have to guess what is going on, or what the character is feeling, or what the weather is etc.

They think it is a big game, but they are getting practice using what they know and what the author tells them to infer.

Something like: Michael looked out the window and noticed the grass was getting long. He went to the garage and started up the machine. What did Michael start?

I also stop alot during read alouds and ask infering type questions.

BeachTeach3

Old 01-15-2008, 03:20 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Do you have a book for the inferening riddles? or make them up yourself. my fourth graders have trouble with inferencing too!

Meggin

Some inferencing poems
Old 01-15-2008, 04:46 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I've used these poems with my 4th grade class. It might work for you as an oral activity; read a bit and have them guess what the poem is about. The further you read in each poem, the easier it is to figure out what the subject is. Go here to find the poems.

Dragonlady

Inferencing-reading between the lines
Old 01-20-2008, 04:47 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5