No English...Where do I start? - ProTeacher Community

AddieJ

No English...Where do I start?
Old 01-19-2008, 02:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I'm a regular classroom teacher and I just received a new, five year old boy who doesn't speak any English. His parents speak English but the language they use at home is Korean. They said they will start tutoring him in English. I have some time twice a week where I can do special things with him to get him "caught up." Where do I start?!? (I was thinking about starting with parts of the face - with pictures & a song but I'm really not sure!) Help!

AddieJ is offline   Reply With Quote

Laura

Make sure he works withthe others
Old 01-19-2008, 06:06 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Working with peers is a BIG motivator! Make sure you use a lot of real objects and point when you give directions. Have peers support him.
Laura is offline   Reply With Quote

Polly J.

Old 01-19-2008, 10:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Scholastic.com offers a $3000 program you can buy...or you can download the scope and sequence for the program and make up your own lesson plans. Here is the link:

http://teacher.scholastic.com/produc...w/leveling.htm

Under each section you can see the link to download three levels of the program's scope and sequence. I use this as a guideline in my classroom, where my kiddos speak a total of 15 different languages!
Polly J. is offline   Reply With Quote

Becca

Old 01-21-2008, 06:13 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I made my student flashcards that he could carry from class to class with a picture and word of "everyday school things" This way he could easily communicate with all teachers. As he became more comfortable, he also had to say the word of the thing he needed (bathroom, pencil, etc.) However, this took several months.

I actually used a lot of resources from this website:

http://www.esl-kids.com/

Good luck!
Becca is offline   Reply With Quote
lenarmc
Old 01-22-2008, 10:46 AM
This message has been deleted by lenarmc.