Social Stories and Autism - ProTeacher Community

tsymia

Social Stories and Autism
Old 03-29-2006, 06:29 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was wondering if anyone had ever used a social story, and what the outcome was. Were their improvements in the student, how long did you use the story for, ways of implementing the story...etc....

tsymia is offline   Reply With Quote

bunny417

bunny417

social stories and autism
Old 03-29-2006, 09:22 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Hi! I am a resource room teacher with 2 students with autism on my caseload. I use social storeis a LOT with my students. Before I begin anything new I write a story with them and utilize a great deal of pictures. With my lower functioning student(who spends 1/2 of his day in an AI self contained program) I read and reread the story quite alot. Whenever he shows me he is anxious in relation to the change OR asks for it to be read, I will get the story out and reread it again. After a while the story isn't needed. The child will eventually internalize the expected behavior and I then move onto another story. I try to work on just a few 2-3 stories at once if that. I am happy to share any stories with you if you'd like. I've also got a format and charting which helps you evaluate if the story was helpful in changing the child's behavior.

tsymia

Old 03-30-2006, 08:18 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Wow thanks,
So social stories are used as transitional tools/ introducing new aspects of routine. If you could share thoes stories and resouces it would be fantastic!!!!. Thanks a million for that info!!!,
Am hoping to write social stories for matt time, and sharing at the present moment.
Thanks
tsymia is offline   Reply With Quote

RAD

Social Stories
Old 03-30-2006, 09:28 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4