Help

ARCHIVE

Professional Learning Communities

>

sheltieinks

Professional Learning Communities
Old 02-02-2008, 09:43 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was wondering if anyone's school is participating in Professional Learning Communities? What is your opinion of them? Pros and cons...My school is just starting our first year and our staff feels overwhelmed by everything so far. Thanks-Sheltie

sheltieinks is offline   Reply With Quote

imp

This is my first year at
Old 02-03-2008, 01:58 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

a school that implements PLC. I haven't seen any difference so far. Each grade level meets with the prinicipal every week. Other than that I don't see any difference from the other schools I have taught at. There is a conference in June in Las Vegas that many of us new to the school will be attending(including myself). What are you doing that makes you feel overwhelmed? I need to do some research to fully understand this PLC approach. I would appreciate any insight you have.
imp is offline   Reply With Quote

TeacherMeg

Old 02-03-2008, 05:25 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

We have PLC's every Tuesday and Thurday with our grade level during our planning time. Sometimes our principal or another support staff person attends, but not always. Usually we have some type of "project" we are working on duing this time (textbook adoption stuff, standards stuff, etc.) Sometimes these meeting seem to be very productive and other times we don't get much accomplished. It can be stressful because there are usually a million things I need to be doing in my own room, and having to sit in a PLC twice a week does take up some time. However, for the most part I like it. It gives us a chance to sit down as a grade level and connect to see whats going on across the grade level. The first year we did PLC"s everything was a lot more rigid and formal. but now it has been 2 years and things have relaxed a lot. I hope this helps!
TeacherMeg is offline   Reply With Quote

MrsM