Middle School Classroom Management - ProTeacher Community

tropical love

Middle School Classroom Management
Old 02-10-2008, 12:31 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi,
I am a student teacher in the 6th grade at an all girls private school. The girls are very talkative when I am trying to teach, but all my classroom management experience has been in elementary school so I am not sure how to get the girls to stop talking and pay attention when I am teaching, without becoming a tyrant. Please help me with your tips and ideas.
Thanks!

tropical love is offline   Reply With Quote

Miss Melissa

Old 02-11-2008, 08:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I would maybe try giving a behavior grade. Come up with a list of about 5 things as a class that show good behavior (positive spin is always nice and it will give you a good discussion) and the girls have to determine if they did all of those things that day and they get a point for each thing they did. In the end a 5 = A, 4=B, etc. I did this with one of my classes and it worked well for awhile. Some of my behaviors were:

* I got all of my materials out before class started
* I was quiet and paying attention when someone else was talking
* I wrote down my assignment when the teacher asked me to

Obviously you have to give them an incentive in order for this to work. For my students, I made it a relatively large percentage of their grade average. You could also do some sort of fun game/class period or something else you know motivates them.

Sometimes you just have to tell them to quiet down or they're out and they owe time. I guarantee you if you do that a few times, the kids will stop a bit because they know you mean business.

I hope this made sense and helps a little bit!
Miss Melissa is offline   Reply With Quote

Polly J.

I Agree
Old 02-12-2008, 02:50 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3