guitar info for 5 year old - ProTeacher Community

TeacherBB

TeacherBB

guitar info for 5 year old
Old 03-03-2008, 03:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am asking all you proteacher music buffs for advice. My 5 yo is really into his guitar that he got for his b-day in Feb. He just messes around and tries to copy Daddy. He is having fun though. I think letting him explore on his own is good. Well, my DH and I think it may be time to start teaching him to play it properly. I don't play one bit, but my DH plays pretty well. He is self-taught and can play totally by ear. I wish I could do that. Anyway, are there some great programs that he could start with? We can't really afford private lessons, but feel my DH is capable of teaching him somewhat. Any good free sites out there, or programs that we could buy for the computer/DVD? Thanks.

Ima Teacher

Old 03-03-2008, 06:12 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My husband teaches guitar, and he starts students at age six. He hates to get students who were allowed to explore too much because he often has a hard time "unteaching" improper techniques.

DH likes lesson books by Mel Bay and Hal Leonard for beginners. You can find some free lesson videos online. YouTube even has things sometimes.

DH plays by ear and reads music, so he likes to start his students off reading music and them move them to playing by ear.

Just out of curiosity, how much do private lessons cost in your area?
TeacherBB

TeacherBB

ima teacher
Old 03-03-2008, 06:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

HI,

I actually told my DH that our DS shouldn't be messing around too much because he will learn wrong techniques...me the teacher... ha ha

Anyway, I will look into Mel Bay and Hal Leonard. I did some searching on Utube and saw little kids playing. It was kind of cute.