Help

ARCHIVE

Poll: desks or tables

>

TeacherLisa1st

Poll: desks or tables
Old 03-08-2008, 07:39 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

in first grade, and why? Just wanted to take a poll because I'm curious what other teachers think.

TeacherLisa1st is offline   Reply With Quote

AD

Old 03-08-2008, 07:44 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have desks, but I SO WISH I had tables!!!!

I really don't like desks. The kids would dig in them (although they've gotten better), and I have them in groups of 4, but they are always crooked (my pet peeve). They also get very messy.

This is my first year at my school, so I didn't want to ask for tables, but next year I might "mention" something to my principal. There's only one teacher in first at my school who has tables, and I might ask if she'd ever like desks instead. Maybe we can switch! I'm not sure that she's super fond of tables, but I like them!

My school is definitely a "desk school", and my previous school was a "table school".
AD is offline   Reply With Quote

StetsonHatter

Tables
Old 03-08-2008, 08:03 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

are so much easier! I didn't like having all of their stuff in desks and having desks all different sizes. With tables, they sit in groups of 4 or 5 which is good for first grade. I keep a table caddy on each table with pencils, scissors, books and crayons and it works really well!
StetsonHatter is offline   Reply With Quote

nilvero

Depends on your students
Old 03-08-2008, 08:13 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Mine are at tables and they talk and get easily distracted by each other WAY too much. I feel if they were at their own desks and the desks were not in as big of groups, they'd be less distracted. I know a teammate of mine feels the same way.
nilvero is offline   Reply With Quote

lita

Tables
Old 03-08-2008, 08:26 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

TABLES!
I have desks, because in Spain Primary tecahers can't have tables in their classrooms. The state is who gives us the furniture, so I cannot ask for tables.