How do you prepare students for state test? - ProTeacher Community

notidentical

How do you prepare students for state test?
Old 03-18-2008, 03:03 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a first year teacher and teach both 7th grade reading/writing and 8th grade science. Our state testing is in a few short weeks and I was wondering how some of you review with your students. I don't want to swamp them with a lot of review work but they do need to be prepared. What do you do?

notidentical is offline   Reply With Quote

teachnkids

Old 03-19-2008, 07:03 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Not sure what state you are from, but does your school have any practice books that are geared to state testing? I know we do, but most of our stuff is now outdated, so we are getting some new stuff this year. Also, make sure you review the key comprehension strategies and focus on the types of genre on the test. We know that most of our tests reading selections are nonfiction so I will be putting emphasis on that between now and testing time.
teachnkids is offline   Reply With Quote

teacherman

Old 03-20-2008, 02:36 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I think I can help. The classes I teach that get tested are 6th grade reading and 7th grade science.