Mass vs Volume - ProTeacher Community

jessi-1

jessi-1

Mass vs Volume
Old 03-31-2008, 11:48 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Okay, I feel like a moran, but this is my first year teaching 4 grade after many years in 6 grade where I did not teach science (we team taught).. How do I explain the difference between mass and volume of matter to fourth graders so they understand it? Any good suggestions?

Thanks.
Jessi

googiesk

a thought
Old 03-31-2008, 02:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

When we study density we need to know mass and volume. I make an analogy of mass being amount of students in the room and volume is the size of the room. And then we discuss what if we make the room smaller--would we get more squished or less squished (density). I don't know if this helps you or not but it helps my students visualize it. Also, I would take out the triple-beam balance and have students measure mass and then take out a ruler or graduated cylinder to measure volume. Bring food items to class and have students read the label to find out it's volume (and sometimes mass is on there too) so they get an idea of different volume sizes. Definitely hands on activities exploring mass and volume really helps students to see the difference.
googiesk is offline   Reply With Quote

roo

I'm wondering
Old 04-01-2008, 02:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Do you mean the difference between mass & weight? Mass and volume are actually quite different. Volume is the number of cubic units needed to fill a solid or container. You can find mass by counting cubes or multiplying LxWxH. Volume will be expressed in cubic centimeters, cubic inches, etc. For instance, if you had a rectangular prism shaped box, you could use a ruler to find a length (let's say 10 cm), width (let's say 4 cm) and height (let's say 5 cm), so you'd multiply 10x4x5=200 cubic cm.