Help

ARCHIVE

Student Teacher: Yes or No?

>

mshunny

Student Teacher: Yes or No?
Old 04-04-2008, 02:40 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Well, I just have a question for all of those teachers who have had student teachers. The local university in my town is offering a course this summer for teachers willing to have student teachers. I am in the process of deciding whether to take it or not.

I think it is wonderful to help people wanting to be teachers. How else will they get to learn? My college was always telling us to make sure we help those in our profession. I remember the days when I was a student teacher, and am thankful to the teachers who helped me get to where I am today.

I am just concerned with all the things I hear about bad student teachers.

If you have had a student teacher, please let me know the pros and cons.

Thanks.

teachnkids

Old 04-04-2008, 02:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I have never had a student teacher, but I've heard some horror stories and some real nice stories. It truly depends on the person you get. I think it's a good thing that they are having a class for this. It gives you the opportunity to find out what they expect. I think that many of the problems are related to lack of communication from the colleges of what the expectations are for for the student teacher. If you decide to go for it---good luck with the class and your student teacher!

mshunny

Old 04-04-2008, 03:16 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I agree with the communication problems. Many teachers aren't fully told by university's about what they expect. Some teachers just take students teachers so they don't have to teach. Other teachers go the distance to make sure they are being the best mentor possible.

I think the class would be very helpful. Let you know my decision.

cvt

six
Old 04-04-2008, 03:18 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I, too, have read on PT about bad student teachers.