Help

ARCHIVE

Need new system for missing work

>

Relevant

Need new system for missing work
Old 04-05-2008, 05:42 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi! I need some ideas for dealing with missing daily assignments from students. As a new teacher, I'm not on top of "catching" everyone who doesn't turn in assignments/homework every day. I've tried reading off names on papers to see who's turned in work for a class period and then writing notes in agendas, but that eats up a lot of class time (10-15 minutes). Sometimes, I don't send home a note till weeks after the assignment was due (though I've given kids notices about the assignments in class and had them complete some things at school). Recently, I've had a couple parents/caretakers of my kids call me at home to ask about directions for late assignments and/or kinda complain about why they didn't receive notification about the missing assignments earlier (I apologized to one caretaker for not sending home the notices earlier). Help! Any ideas for EFFICIENTLY checking to see who's missing assignments/homework and communicating with parents (and then later checking up on the kids to make sure they've turned it in the next day or two?).

teach2reach

Assign numbers
Old 04-05-2008, 06:26 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2