Help

ARCHIVE

Need ideas for teaching address/phone number

>

JennScraps

Need ideas for teaching address/phone number
Old 05-05-2008, 10:15 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

We do a lot of singing in our room and that really seems to help them remember concepts, how to spell words, etc.

I did some looking around on the internet, but haven't been able to find any songs to help with these two concepts. Maybe I'm just not looking in the right place!

Anyway, I wondered if anyone here might have a suggestion.

Thank you!

Jenn

JennScraps is offline   Reply With Quote

lenarmc

Teaching address/phone number
Old 05-05-2008, 12:29 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Do you want them to learn the concept or their own?
I figured that 5 year-olds would be too young to learn or comprehend that concept.
If it's to learn their own, I would say that their parents may need to teach them that.
I am a second grade teacher, and we do teach the concept, how to write it, and what it means, but I find that most of them don't even know their own phone number much less an address.
Good luck, and I would love to hear about what others do?
lenarmc is offline   Reply With Quote

LivieLou

I do teach this
Old 05-05-2008, 12:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

It is actually on our report card.

I teach each child their address-street they live on-then we play a game. I have each address on a name tag and we play who address is this. I read the tag and the child needs to come up if it is their address. They really enjoy it. I will also call them into line by their addresses. I would say, "10 Grove Street" please line up. They get a kick out of it too.
LivieLou is offline   Reply With Quote

URMySunshine

One Ringy Dingy
Old 05-05-2008, 01:55 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4