Help

Classroom Management

I need classroom management help

>

ILovePreK

I need classroom management help
Old 05-27-2006, 11:01 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone ... I'm newly registered to this site but so far have found lots of help so I'm putting my trust in all of you veteran teachers and I'm hoping that you'll be able to help me. I'm an assistant teacher in a pre-school room (3 and 4 year olds) at an early learning center. Many of my kids have special needs and some receive services. This is my first real teaching job and my kids are very lively and hyperactive. They get off task very easily and are hard to control. I have an especially hard time getting them to partner up and walk quietly in a line, without running. I'm sort of jumping in in the middle here, since the head teacher has been there for years and I'm brand new. Does anyone have any ideas that the head teacher and I can start implementing now that might help our lively children calm down and be better listeners? Thanks in advance!!
-Sara

ILovePreK is offline   Reply With Quote

Luz Torres

Luz Torres

Prevention is the key!
Old 05-29-2006, 05:57 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Dear Sara,
My best advice is to explain the routine to the children constantly with the use of pictures, songs, etc. Transitions are very difficult for children with special needs but if they know in advanced what is expected they might have more self-control. Make pictures of children walking to show them that they need to walk in the hall. Make a sign for silence. Let them pick a song to sing during the transition. Assign them jobs: line leader, song leader, line ender, etc. Good luck!!

ILovePreK

thank you!!!
Old 05-29-2006, 06:03 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Thank you thank you thank you ... I'm going to try reinforcing the classroom routine and the classroom rules starting on June 1st (we're introducing a new child into the classroom on June 1st) so I guess we'll see how it goes. Thank you so much for your advice!!