Abeka Curriculum - ProTeacher Community

JMonk

Abeka Curriculum
Old 07-10-2008, 06:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Just wondering if anyone has used this in their classroom. Just interviewed for school that uses this curriculum.

Thanks,

JMonk is offline   Reply With Quote

tchrrx

Old 07-10-2008, 07:07 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I use it, but last year was my first year with Abeka & also my first year in 3rd grade. So, unfortunately, I have nothing to compare it too. I'm sure there are others on here who know a lot more about it than I do. I'll help you out if I can though.
tchrrx is online now   Reply With Quote

monsie2125

ABeka Curriculum
Old 07-12-2008, 09:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

This curriculum is excellent! Have used it in our school for over 30 years.
monsie2125 is offline   Reply With Quote

havefaith

Old 07-12-2008, 12:05 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I am new to Abeka this year as well. I am so excited because I was taught Abeka in school. I didn't realize how BORING it can become so you will need to use a lot of your own resources to make it more enjoyable. My Mother in law has been a teacher for 36 years now and has mostly taught Abeka. She stressed to me the importance of keeping the Abeka interesting and not bland. I have a lot of manipulatives to use with every subject. Hope this helps.
havefaith is offline   Reply With Quote

teachMS

I also teach Abeka
Old 07-19-2008, 01:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I've been teaching Abeka for five years. The curriculum has a lot of pencil and paper work. I have supplemented reading because I don't think kids get the skills that they need if you follow the reading curriculum as it is written. I also use a lot of resources, especially ideas that I have read on the boards on this site. But it is a challenging curriculum and students are nearly a year ahead to the students in the public schools in the state where I teach.

teachMS is offline   Reply With Quote

MissLisa1

ABeka Rocks
Old 07-29-2008, 02:48 AM