Welcome Letters - ProTeacher Community

JustMe

Welcome Letters
Old 07-11-2008, 08:59 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I was wondering if anyone has any Welcome Letter samples/advice for a new teacher. This is my first year, so I don't have all the facts about the curriculum just yet, and I can't play up all of my years of teaching experience.

Any help would be appreciated!!!

JustMe is offline   Reply With Quote

Tinkster

Know your expectations
Old 07-11-2008, 09:27 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

One of the most important things you need to manage before school begins is how you plan to handle discipline, consequences, homework, etc. Decide what you want to do for each of these, make sure they align to the school/district policies, and begin assembling a parent packet to send home. I let my parents know up front what the expectations are and attach a welcome letter that stresses how important parent support is. I also have my parents sit down with their child to establish an achievable academic goal, which they both sign, and send back to me within the first week.
Getting the parents on your side is VERY important. Without their support, your year can be very tough. I teach at a title 1 school where many parents work 2 jobs and the kids stay with grandma or are babysitting younger siblings. While parent involvement is not high, parent support is. I don't nitpick my parents; but when I call home or have to send a note, they know it's serious. My kids respond very well (although the first month is rocky) because they really want me to send a postcard to their home (I do this for positive notes--not a great expense and a good form of communication with parents who may not have a phone or be available to speak with you during school hours).
Best of Luck!!!!
Tinkster is offline   Reply With Quote

Jenagain

Old 07-11-2008, 10:08 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

Here's mine for this year. I tweak it a bit depending on the grade level.