DRA 54 - 60+ Reading books needed... - ProTeacher Community

elmosjeep

DRA 54 - 60+ Reading books needed...
Old 07-20-2008, 08:00 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone! I am a third grade teacher but have a gifted child coming to me who is reading at a DRA 60. I actually had this student two years ago when I taught first grade, and he left me reading a 44...he is now around a 60. Does anyone have any good book suggestions that I could do in a reading group with him? A little about him - loves fantasy, sports, and is a wonderful, fun loving kid...He is very mature and loves to read. Thanks so much!

elmosjeep is offline   Reply With Quote

CountryJo

Super Sport Book
Old 07-20-2008, 08:38 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

My husband just finished QUIET STRENGTH by Tony Dungy and just loved it. It is the story of the coach of the Indianapolis Colts and talks about how to practice godly principles for a winning life. It is a pretty G rated book, but a super read. My son,34, who was in this same boat at 3rd grade level also enjoyed Sports Illustrated and this was before SI for Kids was available.

In terms of Fantasy - If he hasn't already read the Redwall Series, this is a favorite of boys. The WAYFINDER by Darcy Pattison was an interesting book that I used as a read aloud with 4th graders as it was a Georgia Book Award Nominee several years ago. THE MEASLE AND WRATHMONK by Ian Ogilvy was an interesting read also a Ga Book Nom.
I'm not familiar with the SHIELD,SWORD, and STAR series by Hillari Bell, but her newest book has been given some pretty good reviews.

Hope this helps.
CountryJo is offline   Reply With Quote

TeachFun

Old 07-20-2008, 08:48 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I had a 3rd grade student last year who was reading well above 6th grade level. His choice books were all fantasy, with a late bend towards mythology. He did not like some of the realistic fiction genre we read together! He enjoyed the series Guardians of Ga'Hoole (and so have I).