User Name forgot?
Password

Stories of the Heart

Conferring in a Writers Workshop

>

Adaya

Conferring in a Writers Workshop
Old 07-22-2008, 07:12 PM

Conferring… It’s been a discussion here on PT for some time now. A conference is a conversation. So, why is it so difficult?!?! I find that conferring is the hardest part of the Workshop model, yet potentially the most important. Why is that? Is it because it’s just me and that one child? Is it because I’m in charge of teaching that child EXACTLY what s/he needs at that EXACT point in time? Maybe. As teachers we have the power to send a child down a path of being a confident writer or down that other path. It’s a big job.

At the Writing Institute Lucy Calkins and Carl Anderson said over and over how important it was to LISTEN. Lucy said, “As teachers we need to listen. We need to mentor the writer with gasping as if their writing is the best thing you’ve ever read.” Gasping? Do I have time to gasp? As a teacher, I am juggling five things during a conference. Sadly, most of those things I’m juggling don’t have anything to do with the child I’m conferring with. In order to fill my conferences with authentic gasping all my students need to be independent so I can be in the moment with whomever I am conferring with. For in those few minutes, I need to bestow undivided attention on the author providing honest, authentic, and true gasping.

Last summer BookMuncher blogged, questioned, and talked out loud about how teaching points needed to have a skill and strategy. We worked together as we practiced writing out our teaching points, ensuring they consisted of a skill and a strategy. At first I didn’t really get it, now, with practice I’m starting to come around. I can’t say I’ve been perfect, but I’ve been approximating. Since BookMuncher was focusing on Reading Workshop I have more practice doing this in reading. Now I’m ready to attack Writers Workshop. Are you ready to attack with me?