First Day Jitters - ProTeacher Community

1styearscare

First Day Jitters
Old 07-25-2008, 10:17 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am a new teacher and just bought the book First Day Jitters yesterday. I was wondering if anyone has any fourth grade appropriate activities to go along with the book. If you could help me out that would be great! Thanks!

1styearscare is offline   Reply With Quote

craftygal

writing
Old 07-25-2008, 10:34 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

Have them break open their new writing journal by having them write what they were feeling and thinking today as they were getting ready for school. You might also read Shel Silverstein's poem "What if" Get them writing right away. This writing sample will show you just what kind of skill they have.
craftygal is offline   Reply With Quote

Rm. 802

First Day Jitters
Old 07-25-2008, 11:42 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I just purchased that book this summer, too. I have taught for 14 years and still have some jitters on the first day. I was thinking of a prediction activity where I would not read the ending and have the kids draw what the jittery perons looks like (I can't remember her name).
Rm. 802 is offline   Reply With Quote

galinchico

lesson plan ideas
Old 07-25-2008, 11:54 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

Scroll down on todays topics to creative ways to reteach procedures and go to the link of mandy gregory. On her website she lists this book and activities...I didn't look at them but saw them listed.
galinchico is offline   Reply With Quote

2ndcareer

First Day Jitters
Old 07-25-2008, 11:59 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #5

I have used this book on the first day of school for the past 5 years!!

I use it as a "Getting to know you" activity...after I read the story and tell the children that I too had jitters this morning, I bring out my decorated "Me" bag and using items from my bag, I describe myself, the things I like etc.