Reward System - ProTeacher Community

JCat

Reward System
Old 07-25-2008, 12:49 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

What reward or behavior system do you have in your classroom? I'm new to 4th grade, and I'd like something a little more "adult" than my sweet treat or prize pail. Any ideas?

JCat is offline   Reply With Quote

khughesteach

Rewards
Old 07-25-2008, 12:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

They like cute or fancy pens
Sticky note packs
Silly erasers
Key chains
sharpie markers
erasable pens
homework coupons
lunch bunch (lunch with the teacher)
khughesteach is offline   Reply With Quote

CatBells

I Don't
Old 07-25-2008, 01:00 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I don't reward students for good behavior. Most reward systems don't work for the students who most need them anyway! I keep my students busy all day long with meaningful tasks. I spend time at the beginning of the year carefully going over rules and procedures. I place students who aren't "getting it" with strong role models. I make sure my students have sometime each day to be with a friend (lunch, recess, etc.). I make sure I have some personal contact with each student each day. I try to make at least three positive contacts before I have a negative contact.

I do keep notes a on clipboard to help me focus on the issues certain students may be having.

Additionally I am planning to introduce the Power Teaching techniques. (Google it; there are several U-Tube videos.) The main issues I had last year, not paying attention during instructional times and losing focus, will be addressed through shorter talk times with more active student participation.

OK, I've done this for 31 years. I have a lot of tools in my toolbox. But I just think sometimes we overthink this whole issue of behavior management!
CatBells is offline   Reply With Quote

only4Him

My rewards...
Old 07-25-2008, 01:19 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4