Just hired to teach 6th!!! - ProTeacher Community

lvteaching

Just hired to teach 6th!!!
Old 06-11-2006, 02:17 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

Hi everyone! I am new to the site, and while I am not new to teaching, I am new to 6th grade. I have previously taught 4th for one year and 1st for one year in a different state. I moved back to my home state a year ago and subbed for a year, and was just hired to teach sixth grade at the school I grew up in! I know you are all probably so happy that school is going to be or is out, but if you have any great advice, I would love to hear it!

lvteaching is offline   Reply With Quote

6th is for me

Congratulations...
Old 06-11-2006, 04:33 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

on your new position! Two new teachers were just hired to join our 6th grade team and they have already asked me many questions. Here is some of the advice I gave them...

Be prepared--discipline problems will arise if you're not.

Be stern--this does not mean you cannot be nice, but students will catch on very quickly to whether or not you are a pushover.

Be fair and respectful--even if they are not respectful to you, always show respect for them.

The new teachers also asked about decorating the classroom for 6th graders. They wanted to know if some things are too baby-ish. My response: 6th graders are like overgrown 1st graders--they like just about anything!

I don't know if this is what you consider "great" advice, but I hope it will help you. Good luck!!
6th is for me is offline   Reply With Quote
neci2@yahoo.c

neci2@yahoo.c

Summer Planning
Old 06-14-2006, 05:15 AM

Clip to ScrapBook #3