Reading Street plans - ProTeacher Community

aashley

Reading Street plans
Old 07-27-2008, 01:22 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I FINALLY think I have my Reading Street plans figured out like I want them!!! I'm a first year teacher, but I'm sort of familiar with RS because I used it in my student teaching two years ago. Figuring out how to fit RS, trade books, and writing instruction all into roughly 110 min a day was quite a task!!!

We'll start off each day with the Daily Fix-It.

Monday I'll do a Spelling Pretest and have the students self-check to determine what words they will have for the test. Then I'll introduce the Skill and Strategy for the week and use the "Write" in the book that goes along with it, followed by an introduction to the vocab using Think-Pair-Shares.
Writer's Workshop will be next.
During the last 10-15 minutes of class I'll hand out their spelling lists and have them write them 3x each.

Tuesday-Thursday will be spent on the story in RS and "centers" to go along with the story, and SSR and Reader's Notebook. I'm attaching my plans for that.
Wed is shorter so that we can spend the 30-40 min of class on WW.

Friday we'll spend 5 minutes studying for our spelling test and then take the test. The next 45 min of class we'll be spent on literacy centers (these will vary week to week and will not be RS related).
The last 30-40 minutes will be for WW.

Please let me know what you think of this. Of course, any other ideas and input would be greatly appreciated!!!!!

Attached Files
File Type: doc Plans-Reading.doc (55.5 KB, 677 views)
aashley is offline   Reply With Quote

teach72beach

SF reading street
Old 07-27-2008, 02:04 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

I am not a new teacher but weve just adopted SF. I am still trying to figure it out. You are much further ahead than me on planning so I do have a couple of questions.
1. What is Dominoes Vocabulary?
2. What do you have the students do in their Readers Notebook?
3. What is the Scavenger Hunt you will do?