Rules for Kindergarten - ProTeacher Community

ABC123

Rules for Kindergarten
Old 07-29-2008, 07:52 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #1

I am wanting to come up with a short & simple basic list of rules for my Kinders... (I'm new to Kindergarten coming from 4th grade)

Does anyone have a list of what you use???

Thanks!

ABC123 is offline   Reply With Quote

Strawberry_K5

Old 07-29-2008, 07:58 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #2

At the beginning of the year the students and I talk about (and list) how "we" want our friends to treat each other (No hitting. No name calling. etc...). By the end of their list I am able to put all of their ideas under my 3 major rules:

1) Respect others and their property.
2) Use good manners at all times.
3) Work as a team!

GL!
Strawberry_K5 is offline   Reply With Quote

PoohBear

4 rules
Old 07-29-2008, 08:35 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #3

I have 4..... Be kind, be gentle, be responsible, be obedient. We always discuss what each of those words means and give examples of those behaviors.
PoohBear is online now   Reply With Quote

SueHue

Old 07-29-2008, 09:39 PM

Clip to ScrapBook #4

I use a composite of PeaceBuilders and Power Teaching:

1. Show Respect
2. Make Good Decisions
3. Solve Your Own Problems
4. Raise Your Hand for Permission to Speak
5. Make Your Dear Teacher Happy

I have to say, I'm not so sure about rule #5 - I don't want to be the modivation why students behave, but last year I had a class that tested me each day. It was all I could do to maintain calm and in control, which justified the rule for me in the short term.